CHEPLAPHARM Arzneimittel GmbH

ESG Information

ESG stands for environment, social and governance and is used with reference to a set of verifiable criteria applied in investment decisions.

support_agent

Your contact persons

Jens Remmers

Head of Treasury & Investor Relations

We want to inform you about these criteria. Our first ESG report is an important milestone for the sustainable development of our company. And we are starting at a high level: with a materiality analysis and alignment with important frameworks such as the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) or the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG).

Take a look.  

ESG topics


Invest sustainably. Achieve more.

Here you will find detailed information on our ESG projects and goals. Because the world is changing and we want to play an active role in shaping this change - not just be part of it, but lead the way and achieve more!

Our sustainability strategy

The focus of sustainable corporate governance at CHEPLAPHARM is on compliance systems, adequate supervisory structures and the prevention of corruption. Against this background, we are continuously working on expanding our supervisory and reporting structures in order to maintain and further strengthen the public's trust in our company. We also express this through our policies.

In addition, we want to ensure sustainable action at the management level, which is why 9% of the short-term incentives (STI) of our Executive Board have been contractually linked to specific sustainability targets for the first time.

Our main topics

We determined our focus topics through a comprehensive materiality analysis. 24 topics have proven to be particularly relevant fields of action: products, supply chain and environment.

Products expand_more

Our diversified product portfolio includes long-established brand and niche products. We are present with our products in 145 countries worldwide. Our geographical diversification not only reduces our dependence on individual markets and thus also sales risks, but also gives people in many regions access to medicines, some of which are indispensable. About one third of our medicines are on the World Health Organisation's Model List of Essential Medicines, which means that they are among the most urgently needed medicines for health care and are therefore indispensable globally.

The quality and safety of our products is ensured through regular safety audits and extensive training for our employees. 

In addition, CHEPLAPHARM has committed to Good Distribution Practices (GDP) for the pharmaceutical industry. These describe minimum standards to ensure that the quality and integrity of medicinal products is guaranteed throughout the supply chain. For this purpose, CHEPLAPHARM has adopted so-called Standard Operating Procedures (SOP), which define the standardised procedure for the distribution of medicinal products.

Supply Chain expand_more

Our products are manufactured and distributed externally. The size of the companies in our supply chain ranges from smaller local contract service providers to large international pharmaceutical groups.

The majority of our partners are located in Europe and abroad and are therefore largely subject to European law, which places particularly high demands on the quality and sustainability of pharmaceutical products.

We have initiated a first, central part of this sustainability process by establishing a regular and, if possible, complete survey of our supply chain. With this survey, we collect information on the fulfilment of relevant sustainability standards as well as on current sustainability measures and goals. 

Environment expand_more

Even though we are only at the beginning of systematically recording our ecological footprint, we want to integrate sustainability-relevant considerations much more strongly into our corporate activities in the future. We are currently establishing an environmental and energy management system that is to be certified according to ISO 14001 in 2023. In addition to the identification and control of our environmental impacts, this also provides for the measurable improvement of our environmental compatibility.

In 2021, renewable energies accounted for 65% of CHEPLAPHARM's total electricity consumption.

The main energy source for our heat supply is gas, from which we cover 90% of our needs.

Our contribution to the SDGs

Our sustainability strategy is based on the global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) set by the United Nations as part of the 2030 Agenda. As part of a materiality analysis, we have identified 4 goals as particularly important.

SDG 3: Good Health and well-being expand_more

CHEPLAPHARM makes an important contribution to people's health and well-being. CHEPLAPHARM's products meet the high regulatory requirements for safety and quality. Of elementary importance here is the security of supply through a significant diversification of producers, the establishment of second sources and sophisticated storage processes in order to be able to provide sufficient medicines at all times.

SDG 8: Decent work and economic growth expand_more
As a large employer in the Greifswald region, we are aware of our special responsibility for this structurally weak region. The active and targeted further training of our employees is particularly close to our hearts. Joint activities strengthen team cohesion and promote motivation and commitment.
SDG 12: Sustainable consumption and production expand_more

CHEPLAPHARM's greatest potential in achieving this goal lies in making processes along the value chain more energy and resource efficient and reducing emissions and waste in production. Our impact is aimed in particular at our supply chain, which we also continuously analyse for sustainability aspects.

SDG 13: Climate action expand_more

Climate protection requires a continuous and long-term approach. We can make a particularly large contribution to climate protection via our supply chain by incorporating climate protection into all processes and obliging our supplier companies to comply with minimum requirements relevant to climate protection. At our site in Greifswald, we actively contribute to climate protection with our own photovoltaic system, charging stations for e-cars that can be used free of charge, and the construction of a new low-energy building.


ESG is an essential strategic component for CHEPLAPHARM. Feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Contact

ESG Responsibilities at CHEPLAPHARM. 
For any questions on ESG please contact:

Stephanie Lemke

Investor Relations, Corporate Communications and ESG

Back to top expand_less

CHEPLAPHARM Arzneimittel GmbH

ESG Information

Die Abkürzung ESG steht für nachprüfbare Kriterien bei der Geldanlage in den Bereichen Umwelt (Environment), Soziales (Social) und verantwortungsvolle Unternehmensführung (Governance).

support_agent

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Jens Remmers

Head of Treasury & Investor Relations


Über diese Kriterien wollen wir Sie informieren. Unser erster ESG-Bericht ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein für die nachhaltige Entwicklung unseres Unternehmens. Und wir starten auf hohem Niveau: Mit einer Wesentlichkeitsanalyse und der Ausrichtung an wichtigen Rahmenwerken wie der Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) oder den Sustainable Development Goals (SDG). 

Sehen Sie selbst.  

ESG Themenbereiche


Nachhaltig investieren. Mehr bewirken.

Hier finden Sie ausführliche Informationen zu unseren ESG Projekten und Zielen. Denn die Welt ist im Wandel und wir wollen diesen Wandel aktiv mitgestalten – eben nicht nur dabei sein, sondern vorangehen und mehr bewirken! 

Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie

Im Fokus einer nachhaltigen Unternehmensführung bei CHEPLAPHARM stehen Compliance-Systeme, adäquate Aufsichtsstrukturen sowie die Prävention von Korruption. Vor diesem Hintergrund arbeiten wir kontinuierlich daran, unsere Aufsichts- und Berichtsstrukturen auszubauen, um das Vertrauen der Öffentlichkeit in unser Unternehmen zu erhalten und weiter zu stärken. Dies bringen wir auch durch unsere Policies zum Ausdruck.

Darüber hinaus wollen wir ein nachhaltiges Handeln in der Führungsebene sicherstellen, weshalb für das Geschäftsjahr 2021 9 % der kurzfristigen Vergütungskomponenten (Short­term Incentives – STI) unseres Vorstands erstmals vertraglich an konkrete Nachhaltigkeitsziele geknüpft wurden.

Unsere Schwerpunktthemen

Unsere Schwerpunktthemen haben wir durch eine umfassende Wesentlichkeitsanalyse bestimmt. 24 Themen in den Handlungsfeldern Produkte, Lieferkette und Umwelt haben sich dabei als besonders relevant erwiesen.

Produkte expand_more

Produkte

Unser diversifiziertes Produktportfolio umfasst langjährig etablierte Marken- und Nischenprodukte. Mit unseren Produkten sind wir in 145 Ländern weltweit präsent. Durch unsere geografische Diversifikation reduzieren wir nicht nur unsere Abhängigkeit von einzelnen Märkten und damit auch die Absatzrisiken, sondern ermöglichen Menschen in vielen Regionen auch den Zugang zu teils unentbehrlichen Medikamenten. Etwa ein Drittel unserer Arzneimittel sind auf der sogenannten „Model List of Essential Medicines“ der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) aufgeführt und gehören damit zu den Medikamenten, die die dringlichsten Bedürfnisse der Gesundheitsversorgung befriedigen und damit global unentbehrlich sind.

Die Qualität und Sicherheit unserer Produkte wird durch regelmäßige Sicherheitsaudits und umfangreiche Schulungen für unsere Mitarbeitenden sichergestellt. 

Zudem hat sich CHEPLAPHARM zu den Good Distribution Practices (GDP) für die pharmazeutische Industrie verpflichtet. Diese beschreiben Mindeststandards, um sicherzustellen, dass die Qualität und Integrität von Arzneimitteln in der gesamten Lieferkette gewährleistet ist. Hierfür hat CHEPLAPHARM sogenannte Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) verabschiedet, in denen das standardisierte Vorgehen für den Vertrieb der Arzneimittel festgelegt wird.

Lieferkette expand_more

Unsere Produkte werden extern hergestellt und vertrieben. Die Größe der Unternehmen in unserer Lieferkette reicht von kleineren lokalen Lohndienstleistern bis zu großen internationalen Pharmakonzernen.

Unsere Partner:innen sitzen mehrheitlich im europäischen In- und Ausland und sind somit größtenteils europäischem Recht unterstellt, das besonders hohe Anforderungen an die Qualität und Nachhaltigkeit pharmazeutischer Produkte stellt.

Einen ersten, zentralen Teil dieses Nachhaltigkeitsprozesses haben wir mit der Etablierung einer regelmäßigen und möglichst vollständigen Befragung unserer Lieferkette angestoßen. Mit dieser Befragung sammeln wir Angaben zur Erfüllung relevanter Nachhaltigkeits-Standards sowie zu aktuellen Nachhaltigkeitsmaßnahmen und -zielen. 

Umwelt expand_more

Auch wenn wir erst am Anfang der systematischen Erfassung unseres ökologischen Fußabdrucks stehen, wollen wir nachhaltigkeitsrelevante Überlegungen zukünftig noch wesentlich stärker in unser unternehmerisches Handeln integrieren. So bauen wir aktuell ein Umwelt- und Energiemanagementsystem auf, das 2023 nach ISO 14001 zertifiziert werden soll. Dieses sieht neben der Identifikation und Kontrolle unserer Umweltauswirkungen auch die messbare Verbesserung unserer Umweltverträglichkeit vor.

2021 betrug der Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien am gesamten Stromverbrauch der CHEPLAPHARM 65 %.

Der wesentliche Energieträger für unsere Wärmeversorgung ist Gas, aus dem wir 90 % unseres Bedarfs decken.

Unser Beitrag zu den SDGs

Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie orientiert sich an den globalen Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), die von den Vereinten Nationen im Rahmen der Agenda 2030 festgelegt wurden. Im Rahmen einer Wesentlichkeitsanalyse haben wir 4 Ziele als besonders wichtig identifiziert.

SDG 3: Gesundheit und Wohlergehen expand_more

CHEPLAPHARM leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Gesundheit und das Wohlbefinden der Menschen. Die Produkte von CHEPLAPHARM erfüllen die hohen regulatorischen Anforderungen an Sicherheit und Qualität. Elementar wichtig sind hierbei die Versorgungssicherheit durch eine deutliche Diversifizierung der Produzenten, der Etablierung von Second Sources und ausgeklügelten Lagerungsprozessen, um jederzeit hinreichend Arzneimittel zur Verfügung stellen zu können.

SDG 8: Menschenwürdige Arbeit- und Wirtschaftswachstum expand_more

Als großer Arbeitgeber in der Region Greifswald sind wir uns unserer besonderen Verantwortung für diese strukturschwache Region bewusst. Die aktive und zielgerichtete Weiterbildung unserer Mitarbeitenden liegt uns dabei besonders am Herzen. Gemeinsame Aktivitäten stärken den Zusammenhalt im Team und fördern Motivation und Engagement.

SDG 12: Nachhaltige/r Konsum und Produktion expand_more

Das größte Potenzial von CHEPLAPHARM liegt bei diesem Ziel darin, die Prozesse entlang der Wertschöpfungskette energie- und ressourceneffizienter zu gestalten sowie Schadstoffausstoß und Abfall in der Produktion zu reduzieren. Unser Impact zielt insbesondere auf unsere Lieferkette, die wir kontinuierlich auch auf Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte hin analysieren.

SDG 13: Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz expand_more

Klimaschutz erfordert einen kontinuierlichen und langfristigen Ansatz. Einen besonders großen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz können wir über unsere Lieferkette beitragen, indem wir Klimaschutz in allen Prozessen mitdenken und unsere Zuliefererunternehmen auf die Einhaltung klimaschutzrelevanter Mindestanforderungen verpflichten. An unserem Standort in Greifswald tragen wir u.a. durch eine eigene Photovoltaikanlage, kostenfrei nutzbaren Ladesäulen für E-Autos oder den Bau eines neuen Niedrigstenergiegebäudes aktiv zum Klimaschutz bei.

ESG ist für CHEPLAPHARM eine wesentliche Strategiekomponente. Sprechen Sie uns gerne an, wenn Sie Fragen haben.

Kontakt

ESG-Verantwortlichkeiten bei CHEPLAPHARM.
Bei Fragen zu den ESG wenden Sie sich bitte an: 

Stephanie Lemke

Investor Relations, Corporate Communications and ESG

Nach oben expand_less